Upcoming Webinars! FTC Proposes Rule Banning Use of Non-Competes. Now What? | Seyfarth Shaw

Thursday, January 12, 2023
3:00 pm to 4:00 pm Eastern
2:00 pm to 3:00 pm Central
1:00 pm to 2:00 pm Mountain
12:00 pm to 1:00 pm Pacific

REGISTER HERE

In the first installment of the 2023 Trade Secrets & Non-Competes Webinar Series, our team will focus on the new Federal Trade Commission’s (“FTC”) proposed rule banning the use of non-competites with employees and workers. If adopted, the proposed rule will bar both prospective and existing non-compete agreements. The proposed rule comes after allegations that some employers were abusing non-compete agreements by deploying such agreements in ways that go well beyond preventing unfair competition or protecting trade secrets. The expert panel will address what the proposed rule would do and what employers need to know to respond.

Seyfarth partners Michael Wexler, Robert Milligan, Kate Perrelli, Dan Hart, and Dawn Mertineit will address the following topics:

  • An overview of how we got here
  • The FTC’s proposed rule banning non-competites and the FTC’s reasoning and justification for the proposed rule
  • The dissent and business community’s response to the proposed rule, including discussion of problems with the proposed rule
  • Alternative approaches
  • What happens next and practical tips for what companies should do now in terms of restrictive covenant agreements

Speakers
Michael Wexler, Partner, Seyfarth Shaw LLP
Robert Milligan, Partner, Seyfarth Shaw LLP
Kate Perrelli, Partner, Seyfarth Shaw LLP
Dan Hart, Partner, Seyfarth Shaw LLP
Dawn Mertineit, Partner, Seyfarth Shaw LLP

REGISTER HERE


If you have any questions, please contact Colleen Vest at [email protected] and reference this event.

This webinar is accredited for CLE in CA, IL, NJ, and NY. Credit will be applied for as requested for TX, GA, WA, NC and VA. The following jurisdictions may accept reciprocal credit with these accredited states, and individuals can use the certificate they receive to gain CLE credit therein: AZ, CT, NH. The following jurisdictions do not require CLE, but attendees will receive general certificates of attendance: DC, MA, MD, MI, SD. For all other jurisdictions, a general certificate of attendance and the necessary materials will be issued that can be used in other jurisdictions for self-application. Please note that attendance must be submitted within 10 business days of the program taking place. If you have questions about jurisdictions, please email [email protected] CLE credit for this recording expires on January 11, 2024.